Home > People > How Did We Get Here?

How Did We Get Here?

I never thought I would say, “Today I was on a panel with Tac Anderson.”…, but today I was on a panel with Tac Anderson. When I found Tac Anderson on Twitter a couple of years ago, I did not envision ever meeting him in person. How did I get here? How did I go from reading Tac’s blog posts to sitting beside him offering up my opinion at a conference?

Many people downplay the effort required to switch careers and find full time employment in an evolving space, as if they took a completely different path by accident. Today alone, I heard all of these explanations:

  • Low barriers to entry
  • Couches to crash on
  • Luck
  • Serendipity
  • Twitter

Bull…

Sara Lingafelter answered how she went from being a divorce attorney to driving social media at REI in three words: I said yes. Sara nailed it. Most of us got here by saying yes. Over and over and over.

Put another way, we got here by showing up. The only secret to social media is that most of the good stuff happens offline. Like sharing ideas over lunch, as shown in the photo taken by Tac Anderson below.

5794584314_308e8dc5bf_m


Yes, grown ups having lunch sitting on the floor of Microsoft Conference Center. This is work. This is play. This where personal and professional lives blur. This is the path I chose, and I did not get here by accident. None of us did.

Related articles

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

