Home > People > Who Killed the Cat?

Who Killed the Cat?

Curiosity did not kill the cat. At least not immediately. Curiosity may have lead to injuries or an initial death or two, but it also lead to the discovery that cats have nine lives. Worth a broken bone or two, no?

As a card-carrying member of the curious folk, I’ve found that we are understandably irritating.  We have a hard time taking no for an answer and are unable to accept anything at face value. When we finally garner a satisfying conclusion, we seek a new question. We don’t sit still. We are quick to interrupt and often respond without really listening. Our constant stream of questions can be maddening, especially amongst people who are not comfortable saying (or feeling): I don’t know.

Confession. I love hearing the words: I don’t know.  Without candor, acceptance of the unknown, wondering what would happen if…I may find answers to all of my questions or run out of questions and sputter to a halt. Dull acceptance is my greatest fear.

Curiosity did not kill the cat. If I had to guess the cause of death, I bet the cat ran out of questions.

  1. William Dodson
    December 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Curious people rule. I’m curious, but typically more investigative than inquisitive. My wife, on the other hand, is more about questions. I love it. Dull acceptance kind of sucks. 🙂

  2. @krcraft
    December 20, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Found this enjoyable & scarily familiar. I, too, hail from the tribe of the ever questioning knowledge seekers. Luckily, I’ve yet to face certain demise, as there seems to be no end to questions.Aren’t we fortunate to be living in this age? Even if we do hear an, ‘I don’t know,’ an answer, or many ideas are merely a tweet away. There is no need to settle, be dull, or accept. Just keep send out queries.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

