Home > People > Clicking “Post”

Clicking “Post”

Many writers battle writers’ block. Fortunately I have no problem writing. It is easy, almost necessary, for me to write for hours on end, but I struggle with clicking “post”.

Why? I have no problem expressing myself online, amongst friends, and even speaking in public. Why does a blog post on my personal bIog feel like a tattoo? Even if no one reads a post, it feels permanent, unlike the ephemeral tweet. I am sharing this as a commitment to overcome this hurdle, and I wonder if I am alone.

Have you had trouble clicking “post”?

How did you overcome it?

  1. noelle
    November 15, 2010 at 3:06 am

    I have yet to overcome it. But I completely relate to what you are saying, so many blog posts rolling around in my brain. I think I feel like if I am going to write a blog it has to be extra clever, or brilliant, or something. Lately my attempts to overcome it have involved trying to take the pressure off. If I succeed, you will be the first to know.

  2. KRCraft
    December 1, 2010 at 4:55 am

    You’re not alone. I have 6 posts in draft mode as I type this, none of which will likely ever see the light of day.In addition to the points Noelle raised above, I also put additional false barriers (excuses) in my own way: “Oh, I’ll post once I can move wP blog to a server & use my own domain…” or “I’ve never been trained as a copywriter, so …”I did have one very successful experience lately when a wonderful writer stepped in as a ‘Blog Whisperer’ who mentored, cajoled, poked and prodded me into refining my voice, and my points to produce a post I was happy to publish when I hit Post. I’d love to try that again, but again, am hesitant to reach out for further mentoring help, as I don’t want to burden kind experts.I’ll look forward to reading ideas others have.

  3. Liza Sperling
    December 2, 2010 at 4:50 am

    Oooohh, a “blog whisperer”? I think that sounds like a great idea. Pretty sure there are plenty of us looking for exactly that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

