Home > People > What Did I Miss?

What Did I Miss?

Gathered for the IHR Headphone Roundup

Image by Derek K. Miller via Flickr

I recently moved to a new apartment in San Francisco.  I have spent most of my adult life in apartments in New York City and San Francisco, and this is the first time I can describe my apartment as quiet.  

I have changed, too. This is the first time I have lived without a TV, and while Hulu and Netflix offer as much content as I could possibly desire, I no longer turn on the TV for background noise.  Most mornings I wake up to the scent of a neighbor having a cigarette around 4am.  It sounds awful, but it's oddly comforting to know someone else is starting their day in the dark, too.  Late at night, I can hear my neighbor's baby crying, and last night I fell asleep to a song that was meant to quiet the baby's nightmares.  

Who knows, I may get a TV eventually, but I can't help but wonder what I missed before I lived without the noise of the TV in the background.

Related articles by Zemanta

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

