Home > People > Identity VS. Personal Brand: Say My Name

Identity VS. Personal Brand: Say My Name

Say My Name. Out loud. I wish I could hear your response!

You may have noticed that I moved my blog back to Posterous.  I am simplifying the technology clutter as I explained in a previous post, What Works.

I also changed the name of my blog to “With a Z”.  

Rebranding? No, expressing my identity.  

So few people can say or spell my name, so “With a Z” may help remind people that my name is Liii-zaaa, NOT Lisa, Liz, Eliza or Leeza.  Liza, just like Liza Minnelli.  By renaming my blog, I hope to: 1) increase the amount of people who know how to say and spell my name, and 2) remind readers of the importance of identity.


“Identity” is not the same thing as “personal brand”.   

“Identity” is the combination of values, traits, experiences and countless attributes that make each of us different than anyone else. Each of us has our own unique identity, but it takes a lifetime to fully discover it. Consider a jigsaw puzzle that requires arranging hundreds of seemingly unassociated pieces.  Some fit perfectly into place, while others appear to belong to a different puzzle.  Those challenging puzzle pieces will not fit into the incorrect position no matter how hard you push.

“Personal brand” is a misnomer – it is not at all personal. It’s is the elevator pitch used to define a person or shorthand used to summarize a person in sound bites.  A personal brand will never represent even the most transparent, brutally honest person, because people are far more complex than even heaps of communication and content can convey.

My personal brand is not my identity.  Defining, discovering and accepting our identities is a messy, complex and lengthy process, so why do so many “experts” claim that we should package our identity in a a neat and tidy personal brand?  My solution, 
I am focusing on defining my identity, and I will let the personal brand take care of itself. 
 
What about you? What do you think?

And can you say “Liza” now? 

 

  1. Bryan Jones
    July 29, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Great thought-starter for the day.With a *personal brand* there is no way to be fearlessly inappropriate, it is a persona that’s not personal. For folks who posture online to benefit their career, (me included, more often than I care to admit) *personal branding* is the safe pseudo-identity alternative.Thanks for adding to my day. Cheers!-Bryan

  2. Liza Sperling
    July 29, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    We all posture online in varying degrees. There is one exception: bots.

  3. znmeb
    July 29, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    You’ve heard the Liza Minelli song, “Liza with a ‘Z’, right?” 😉

  4. Liza Sperling
    July 29, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    I have heard that song. How about “There’s A Hole In The bucket, Dear Liza”? Another great oldie.

  5. znmeb
    July 30, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Well fix it, dear Henry, dear Henry, dear Henry, well fix it, dear Henry, dear Henry – fix it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

