Home > People > What Works

What Works

I’ve spent the past few years bulking up, shrugging off any technology or tools that seem light-weight. Comprehensive, feature-laden and sporting a multitude of bells and whistles is better than focused, stream-lined, simpler applications, right? Just like my 47 word Starbucks order, my application requirements have become a laundry list of features.

Where is the value when everything can sync to all devices, sort on the click of a mouse, spit out the entire Twitterhose, post to Facebook and send an email to my mom on her birthday?

My demands don’t stop with apps and are bleeding into my physical space. My apartment and office are filled with gadgets, adapters, chargers and, uhm, widgets to outsmart other widgets. I carry no fewer than three ways to take a photograph most of my waking hours. Is there something wrong with this picture?

I am typing this on my Blackberry and will post it by sending to Posterous, but I have a laptop, charger, and dongle beside me. My literal tipping point. I am tired of big, heavy, bulky, dense “stuff”. It’s time to embrace the really amazing technology that does not feel like an arsenal of guns. I like what works. 

  1. sukhjit ghag
    July 13, 2010 at 5:09 am

    This blog post reads like poetry, though we are just starting the path to real ubiquity. I remember poopooing many of the concepts I learned about when I was working as a new producer at TechTV. One of them was the idea of a “smartphone”. “Who on earth will want to carry a device that does all those things and is sooooo pricey?” I use to think. Now I’m the first in line lusting after new devices. Keep the tech coming is all I have to say. 🙂 Good post Liza.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

