Home > People > Get Over It

Get Over It

[[posterous-content:]]
Image via Wikipedia

This month I lost my beloved grandmother, celebrated my 34th birthday alone, moved offices, moved apartments, and the company I joined in November, Scout Labs, was acquired.  These are the facts – not an attempt to throw a pity party.  There were many moments this month when I just wanted to throw in the towel and go home, but where is home? Today the full brunt of this month hit me: I am homesick.

My least favorite question is, Where are you from? I was born outside of Chicago, raised in New Orleans and spent a good chunk of time in New York City.  While I live and work in San Francisco, I still don’t consider it home.  I moved into a new apartment yesterday.  I want to make this apartment home.

My grandmother passed away on May 1st, 2010, the evening before I turned 34.  I spent my birthday alone, comforted by the thought that if she were alive, she would have laughed and said: Get over it.

Is my home in these boxes I dread unpacking?  They are filled with reminders of a time in my life when I never thought I would be single, 34, and moving into yet another apartment alone.  I chose this path and I love this path, so why can’t I accept it?  Today, right now, I can.  I’m over it.

Media_httpimgzemantac_ajadg

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

